David Underwood

ASHRAE President David Underwood will present at the 15 December Joint ASHRAE Meeting of Orange Empire, SoCal and Tri-County Chapters

David Underwood, P.Eng., Fellow ASHRAE, Life Member, CPMP, resides in Oakville, Ontario, Canada. David-Underwood.JPG

As ASHRAE’s president, Underwood chairs the Society’s Board of Directors and Executive Committee. His presidential theme is “Making Connections.” 

“Making Connections focuses on the first goal in ASHRAE’s Strategic Plan, which calls for connecting as a way to foster vibrant, informed and engaged ASHRAE and industry communities,” Underwood said. “The theme focuses not only on the connections of ASHRAE membership but extends to connecting with industry, communities, governments and globally.”

Underwood was awarded a Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering from the University of Manitoba. Immediately upon graduation, he entered the HVAC&R industry and was employed by a major products manufacturer for approximately 10 years. In 1975, Underwood founded Isotherm Engineering Ltd., an HVAC&R design-build enterprise, which continues to be operational.

He was a volunteer Board member of ORAC (the Ontario Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Contractors Association) for many years and served in all executive positions. He also served on the CSA B52 committee on Mechanical Refrigeration, the advisory committee that assisted the Ontario government in developing refrigeration regulations for Ontario.

He coauthored a trade refrigeration safety manual and served on a trade advisory committee for the refrigeration trade in Ontario.

As a member of a Canadian Federal committee he participated in writing the Building Science and Plumbing section of the 2015 edition of the Model National Building Code (MNBC).

He is an ASHRAE Distinguished Lecturer and a member of Technical Committee 7.2, HVAC&R Construction & Design Build Technologies, and of the Building Performance Alliance Ad Hoc Committee.

Underwood previously served on the Board as president-elect, treasurer, served two terms as a vice president and also served as a director-at-large.

He has received an Exceptional Service Award, a Distinguished Service Award and the William J. Collins Research Promotion Award.